Uncategorized

Spring Smoothie and Lucy Rocks Review

I have always been a firm believer that you can’t beat homemade granola, but my mind has been swayed! Lucy Rocks Paleo sent me these two gorgeous little bags and I’m in love!

received_1175348459241025

Both the glowing granola and blush crunch have such a fresh flavour, I just HAD to pair them with a fresh and fruity smoothie.

received_1175348522574352

Spring Smoothie 
  • 1 frozen banana
  • Handful of frozen mango
  • Handful of frozen Strawberries
  • Handful of frozen blueberries
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1 small carrot (It may sound weird but trust me)
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder
  • Milk for consistency (I like coconut)

I used to think that adding vegetables to smoothies were gross, but it means that you’re fuller for longer and don’t have a sugar crush like you would blitzing up 6 forms of fruit (Yey!). It’s pretty simple to make, just throw it all in a blender, and scoop into a bowl. And of course I’d suggest topping it with some Lucy Rocks Granola!received_1175348495907688


I tried the Lucy Rocks Glowing granola and the Blush crunch, I honestly couldn’t pick a favourite as I liked both so much!

Glowing Granola

Ingredients

  • Seeds [23%](pumpkin, sunflower, buckwheat, chia seeds [2.5%], linseeds)
  • Toasted coconut chips,
  • Nuts [11%] (cashew, brazil nuts, almonds)
  • Dates
  • Banana powder
  • Coconut blossom nectar [5%]
  • Mulberries
  • Apple pieces [3%]
  • Beetroot [3%]
  • Baobab [0.5%

I love seeds, ask any member of my family that and they’d probably falling about laughing with the amount I get through! Seeds are a great source of protein, but I do love them (as I said) so I always add extra to basically any meal. In this packet, I really loved the toasted coconut pieces as it added another texture to my smoothie bowl as well the nuts, the quantities of everything was just right! So, if your allergic to nuts, or dislike nuts then I guess this isn’t the one for you…received_1175348479241023

Blush Crunch

Ingredients:

  • Raw sprouted buckwheat [42%]
  • Toasted coconut chips
  • Dates
  • Raw sunflower seeds
  • Raw coconut oil
  • Raw white mulberries
  • Cashew nuts
  • Goji berries [3.5%]
  • Banana powder
  • Raw lucuma
  • Beetroot [2%]
  • Blueberries freeze dried [1.2%]
  • Raw baobab [0.6%]

 

If you can’t eat oats, then this is the one for you! The dates made this one extra sweet and having never tried raw, sprouted buckwheat (or heard of it), it’s fair to say I’ll be having it again, they made everything so super crunchy and I loved this on banana ice-cream (and out the bag too…)

Any how, if you are looking for a fantastic granola to buy, I would suggest this company to anyone! If you fancy making your own granola, let me know and I’ll post my dad’s favourite homemade granola! IMG_20170521_080307_854


If you fancy learning about the health benefits then I suggest you head over to their website here, as I am no nutritionist or doctor to make any claims! If you do try out my smoothie recipe, or any of my recipes tag me on Instagram @laura_elfes, twitter and Facebook @courgettiblog and use the #courgettiblogetti too!

 

Leave a Reply

