Recipes

Apple Pie Smoothie Bowl

I have smoothie bowls almost everyday, but this one was extra special! Cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and apple, the flavours of a great pudding, but in a healthy breakfast, who would say no to that? I even topped this with a scrumptious protein ball to make it a perfect post-workout refuel (or just even tastier!)

The base:
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp (gluten free) oats
  • pinch of ground ginger
  • pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 1 frozen banana
  • A handful of frozen strawberries
  • Almond milk
  • 1 tbsp cashew butter
  • 1/4 ripe avocado
Toppings: the best bit!
  • 1 small apple
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • Handful of (frozen) strawberries
  • Walnuts
  • Bounce ball, apple and cinnamon protein punch
  • Berry muesli
  • Cashew nut butter
Method: Smoothie bowl

Well it’s pretty simple really, throw in all the ingredients to your blender and blend till you have the creamiest texture you can imagine. If you are in a rush, pile all of the ingredients in the night before and just pulse in the morning, in my opinion this is even better as it tastes even more of apple pie!

received_1146028765506328
My favourite combination! Who says these are for winter!
received_1146028775506327
Oats and dates, no need for medjool as they soften anyway
received_1146028788839659
Add in the banana – TOP TIP – always have a banana in the freezer for when you need a creamy smoothie or fancy ‘nice cream’
received_1146028815506323
A dollop of peanut butter and some ripe avocado
received_1146028832172988
My new favourite plant based milk!
received_1146028848839653
Meet my best friend…

Okay, so the smoothie is done, you could stop here but I’m a foodie so here comes the toppings. I can just imagine my mum saying ‘what are all those for?’ and I’ll reply ‘to make it even better!’

Method: Toppings

To make the apple and berry compote, you will be surprise how super simple and quick this is. Add to a bowl diced apple chucks (I leave the skin on but you could take it off), the strawberries and the chia seeds. Microwave for 1 minute on high power, then continue for 30 second blasts till the fruits are soft enough to mash together.

I love to have this quite sharp so I don’t add sweetener, I find the bowl is sweet enough, but you could add maple syrup, honey or sugar if you like.

Finally, the construction process, my bounce ball was a little squished, but this didn’t change the flavour! I have always been very sceptical that these would taste of powdered protein but I was so wrong!received_1146029138839624

First I scooped the thick smoothie into a bowl, then added all the compote into the middle, sprinkled on some berry muesli, sliced and placed the Bounce, and finally sprinkled with some seeds!

 

received_1146029218839616
So it is true, apple pie for breakfast!

 

 

If you give one or all of these aspects a try tag me on twitter or facebook @courgettiblog or Instagram @laura_elfes or use the hashtag #courgettiblogetti . Thanks for reading and enjoy!

17 thoughts on “Apple Pie Smoothie Bowl”

    1. If you mean subscription issues, there’s a little icon on the bottom right hand side of your screen, you then enter your email address and it means that you get an email on every new post! I am so glad you are loving my post, I must say this was, and still is, one of my favourites!
      – Laura x

      Like

  1. I’ll right away take hold of your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

    1. So sorry for the (extremely) late reply, my emails have been messing around! When you are on my blog, there should be a little button on the bottom right hand side of your screen! I am glad you are enjoying my posts!
      – Laura x

      Like

  2. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

  3. This is really interesting, you are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent posts. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

    Like

  4. Does your site have a contact page? I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

