Uncategorized

What I ate on my Duke of Edinburgh

Yes it may be March, but this past weekend I have just completed my Silver Duke of Edinburgh practice weekend. The camping part was so cold, but seven layers kept me warm! Call me crazy, but I love navigating around the countryside with a heavy rucksack on my back. Silver involves 3 days walking and 2 nights camping resulting in 3 lunches, 2 breakfast, 2 dinners and of course snacks in between!

As a vegetarian I struggled to find blogs online that gave tips and tricks for Duke of Edinburgh food ideas. I couldn’t even ask my sister for lunch tips as she took tuna! If you’re planning on taking part yourself, wondering how to pack light food for camping or just looking for some snacking ideas, you’re in the right place!

One of the key essentials on getting through your long walks is looking forward to snacks or a meal at the top of a hill or at your next checkpoint.


My DofE Menu:

received_1106855499423655 (2)

Breakfast:

  • Golden syrup Oomf Protein porridge with Salted caramel Nakd nibbles
  • Plain Oomf Protein porridge with cranberries and Pip and Nut coconut & almond butter

Lunch:

  • Bread roll with a hard boiled egg, sweet chilli crisps, apple and cheese, flapjack
  • Cup a soup with oatcakes and cheese, an apple , flapjack
  • Roasted vegetable couscous, apple, flapjack

Snacks:

  • 9 bar – pumpkin seed x3
  • Tesco’s coconut, peanut and chocolate bars x3
  • Trail mix bag x3 (including yoghurt coats banana chips, cranberries, raisins, cashews, almonds, oats, sunflower seeds, macadamia nuts, apricots and dates)
  • Minstrels
  • Primal pantry hazelnut and cacao x2

Dinner:

  • Dried pasta, green pesto, pine nuts and cheese
  • Cup a soup tandoori rice with flatbreads

Pudding:

  • Go ahead chocolate orange mini biscuits
  • Alpro chocolate yoghurt (heated) with a chocolate brownie

Drinks:

  • Hot chocolate sachets
  • Cappuccino sachets

My favourite meal would have to be Day 3’s breakfast of plain porridge with nut butter and dried berries. It was just so perfect to warm me up after a cold night with lots of rain. This would be closely followed by my sandwich for day one, I made this by hard boiling an egg the night before at home and ready adding salad cream to my brown roll from Lidl.

I would highly recommend choosing lightweight food, especially for trips that are longer than two days, the tandoori rice was a perfect option and tasted fantastic too! To make my couscous and cup a soup for my lunches, I used the boiling water of our stove from breakfast that morning which was perfect! Below I am going to list some other ideas for lightweight or easy to pack foods in case you need some more inspiration!

DSC_2331
Eating my Lidl brown roll with an egg with a beautiful, sunny view!

Lightweight food ideas

Breakfast:

  • Bagels
  • Hot chocolate and a breakfast bar
  • Mini cereal boxes, dried
  • Packaged brioche or croissant
  • Other porridges such as Oat so simple Sweet cinnamon or summer fruits. ( There is also a Gluten free option available in Tesco)

Lunch:

  • Pitta bread
  • Wraps – you could fill them in the morning
  • Pre-packed lunches (heavier but easy) such as John West tuna salads for non-vegetarians
  • Oranges
  • Crackers and cheese/peanut butter

Snacks:

  • Cereal bars
  • Biscuits
  • Fresh carrots
  • Any nuts, seeds or dried fruit
  • Homemade energy balls
  • Soreen fruit loaf (these are amazing to take as they’re individually packed)
  • Kendal mint cake
  • Hardboiled sweets

Dinner:

  • All mug shot packages (you may need two to be full)
  • Uncle Ben’s rice with a sauce such as sweet chilli or tomato
  • Dried noodles with stir fry sauce
  • Super noodles
  • Tortellini
  • Camping ration packs – some are boil in the bag which are heavier but have more flavour, others are dried and you add water so they are suitable for Gold DofE as they’re very light! They’re available in lots of camping shops

Pudding:

  • Camping ration packs (see above)
  • Rice pudding pots – hot or cold
  • Steam puddings
  • Chocolate
  • Alpro desserts that are UHT

Drinks:

  • Horlicks sachets
  • Tea bags
  • UHT milks (can be heavy)
  • Robinson’s concentrated squash to add to your water bottles

Thank-you for reading my blog post! I hope you have got some inspiration for you’re next trip into the country side or maybe just next weeks packed lunch! I really hope you enjoyed this and let me know if you have some suggestions for me!

Find me on Instagram @laura_elfes Twitter @cougettiblog and Facebook @courgettiblog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

