Recipes

Nut Roast

It’s boxing day already and I thought I’d share my Christmas nut roast recipe for other people to try and enjoy as much as I did! (My family, who all love meat, enjoyed this too). I had it served with so many incredible roasted vegetables and vegetarian gravy -see my Christmas day menu 2016 here – over the next few days I enjoyed the leftovers crumbled with salad and houmous, on top of a sweet potato jacket and many more, it seemed to last forever!

December 2016 was my first proper vegetarian Christmas, after seeing so many recipes  I decided to create my own using inspiration from a number of different people to find my favourite balance of nuts and vegetables.

Ingredients:

  • 2 shallots
  • 2 celery sticks
  • 4-5 chestnut mushrooms
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 tin of mixed beans in tomato sauce
  • 1-2 tsp dried chilli powder
  • 1 slice of bread (I used gluten free for my dad)
  • 1 large sprig of rosemary
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 6 dried apricots
  • 250g mixed nuts
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Handful of sunflower seeds
  • Oil, any will work well, I like using rapeseed for the taste, but coconut, olive, sunflower (etc.) will be just as good

Some of these ingredients may sound strange, but trust me, it works so well!

nut-roast-1
You’ll need a loaf tin too
  1. On a chopping board dice the shallot into small pieces, followed by the red pepper and celery. For the mushrooms, dice all but one, which you can slice and put to the side for the top later.

2.  Add the shallots to a frying pan with a teaspoon of oil. Soon followed by the pepper, minced garlic and celery, tomatoes and finally, the diced mushroom.

3.   Meanwhile, whilst they are cooking, dice the apricots and fresh rosemary, add to the pan. Cook on a medium heat until the onion is changed in colour and the vegetables are soft.

4.   Crush the nuts in a processor or by hitting them inside a plastic bag – leaving some texture- add them to the pan too.

5.   With your bread of your choice, blend to a bread crumb, which will help to bind the loaf together. Stir this in to the pan, turn to a low heat. Add in the beans, then chilli to taste.

7.   Whilst this is still on a low heat, lightly grease a loaf tin with oil, using the sliced mushroom, line the base. This will become the top when it’s turned out, sprinkle the seeds for decoration. Pour the mixture from the pan into the tin and squish it down using a spatula to make it compact.

8.   Set this aside if you aren’t cooking it straight away or place in an oven at 180°c for 50 minutes.

9.   Once cooked loosen the sides with a knife, once it is ready to be served turn it upside down on to a large plate. Slice to serve

I like to make this a few weekends before Christmas to avoid the busy run up, and getting in the way in the kitchen on Christmas Day, I then slice it and freeze it after it’s cooked. All I need to on the big day, is place a slice in the oven for about ten minutes!

Merry Christmas everyone, if you try this recipe let me know how it goes over on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook @courgettiblog

Laura x

1 thought on “Nut Roast”

Leave a Reply

