Uncategorized

Pre-run meal tips

DICLAIMER: I wrote this about a year ago and may not agree with all my views back then! I have since learnt about ‘superfood’ claims but did not want to take this post down as it was one of my first ever posts!


Today I completed my first ever 10km run. It was the RNLI reindeer run in Moors Valley, which is held every year including the 5K fun run and 1K run for young children. Upon arrival you get a pair of antlers and a brilliant t-shirt which everyone wears all the way round-if your antlers stay on though.

Reinder Run logo
Reinder Run logo

To make sure I had enough energy – like you have probably heard many times before- carbs the night before was the answer. For breakfast choose something easily digestible. For dinner last night, I went to Baffi in Canford Cliffs, this is a wood fired pizza restaurant-which was incredible (See their menu here). I had the aubergine pizza which was creamy but crispy and just perfect. This provided me with lots of carbs, however if you are planning  on a night in before the run, whole-wheat pasta or jacket potatoes would be great also. To drink there was water and for dessert I had pistachio and chocolate gelato (I pretended I was in Italy at this point):

DSC_2228.JPG
Number 2: Aubergine, Garlic, Cherry Tomatoes, Parmesan, Mozzarella, Basil.

 

This morning, 3 hrs before running I had chocolate coconut oats. I made this with:

  • 1tsp cacao powder
  • 2tbsp desiccated coconut
  • 2 large handfuls muesli/rolled oats
  • splash coconut milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana

Once this is all mixed together, I added some boiling water from the kettle, to soften the oats, then microwaved it on full power for 2minutes, stirring halfway through. No picture of this because it was too good! I also had a large glass of water. Porridge is a great slow releasing energy food, so the nutrients are slowly released into your body over time, keeping you full and more energised for longer. The cacao gives such a lovely, dark chocolate, rich taste but it also provides you with a good amount of antioxidants, vitamin C, magnesium, and more… see here for more on cacao.

If you are wanting to do a 10K and you have never run one before, just try it! The furthest I had run before this was 8km! Make sure you have good shoes and if your feet are prone to blisters, tape them! Taking part in this run was really exciting, Moors Valley is a beautiful national trust park, open all year to the public with so many trails for bikes, children, dogs and lovely walks too. The route was one large lap that wasn’t muddy, all the paths were wide and I thoroughly enjoyed the race! Bring on 2017 Reindeer run.

If you have any questions about my blog, myself or anything you think I can help you with feel free to email me with the one provided.

Leave a Reply

